About this church
The exterior of the chapel is very striking, and retains the two original doors (thought to be one for men and one for women). The windows are very tall, and in a symmetrical pattern. There are two circular windows on the south facade with pronounced geometric quoins and the original sashes. There is some early 20th century stained glass in the west and north sides.
The interior was much altered in the 19th and 20th centuries. There is a gallery at the east end and the pews date from 1860. The pulpit is in the centre of the west side, although a faint outline of where the original pulpit stood can be seen.
The graveyard overlooks a fine view of the valley. Monuments include those of Michael Hunter (grandson of Joseph Hunter, founding director of the Public Record Office) and Revd Peter Wright, a prominent Unitarian minister in the 19th century.
The chapel contains many interesting features, including a fine embroidered tapestry celebrating 350 years of Underbank Chapel and a model of the chapel by Ivan Harper. You can also see the Schoolroom on the other side of the road. Opened in 1854, this is the ‘new school’. The original school began in 1652. Why not climb the hill behind the schoolroom to enjoy magnificent views.