St Weonards

This gem of a church dating from the 12th century rightly merits its Grade I status from its commanding position overlooking beautiful rolling Herefordshire fields with stunning views to the hills around Symonds Yat and Ross on Wye.

About this church

The Mynors Chapel was built in 1521 and the Mynors family still live in nearby Treago Castle. The churchyard with its 15th century cross and large Bronze Age round barrow nearby are yours to explore!

A church on this site was first mentioned in a charter of Roger, Earl of Hereford, who died in 1155. The south wall and doorway and windows date from the 12/13th centuries, with east end stonework from the 14th century. The building was enlarged in the 16th century, work being completed by 1521. The north aisle was added at that time, and still retains its original barrel form ceiling. The tower and south porch were added in 1525.

For 350 years, little changed in the building until in 1884 the chancel was lengthened eastward and the south vestry was added. The oak screens, with 'linen fold' panels and running vine ornament on the cornice, are early 16th century. The pulpit, the carved chair and the altar rails are early 17th century. The earliest furniture is the 'dug out' chest, made from a single tree trunk and is 14th century or earlier and retains some of its original iron work.

St Weonards is an active parish church, with regular services accompanied by choir and organ, and is often used for christenings and weddings, and of course to say goodbye to loved ones. Our bell ringers meet weekly to practise, and the church is used for occasional concerts and events. The church, churchyard and green burial area are open during daylight hours throughout the year. You can find more detailed visitor information on our website. Our excellent village shop is just a minute’s walk away if you need to grab something to eat and drink.

Do come and see us!

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Glorious furnishings
  • Enchanting atmosphere
  • Fascinating churchyard
  • Wildlife haven

Visitors information

  • Bus stop within 100m
  • Level access to the main areas
  • Ramp or level access available on request
  • Steps to enter the church or churchyard
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets in church
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

Other nearby churches

St Dubricius

Hentland was the Collegiate Church or monastery of St Dyfrig (alias Dubricius), the famous 6th century Bishop of Glywysing, and as such it is still a popular place of pilgrimage.

Christ Church

A Victorian country church completed in 1856, built in Bath stone in the English Gothic style and set in the centre o the village, this was the first church to be designed by the architect Frederick Bodley, a student of Sir George Gilbert Scott.

Become a Friend of the National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings!