St Thomas a Becket

Built in 1860 to an Athony Salvin design the building replaced the earlier church dating to 1169.

About this church

The only remains is the dedication board to George the first. The church was funded by subscription, the donors included The Earl of Carlisle, Robert Stephenson MP and John Bell, father of Joseph Bell Chief Engineer on the RMS Titanic. A memorial to the Titanic engineers is part of the family head stone in the church yard.

St Thomas a Becket stands at the top of a hill with views west towards the Lake district. Built in 1860 to an Anthony Salvin design, it is described as early English style and is now grade two listed. Two bells hang in the bellcote above the large slate roof of the nave. The original design could seat 400 people. The money was raised by subscription with most local farmers contributing. The Thompson family, owners of the local mines and the Earl of Carlisle were major contributors. Robert Stephenson the renowned railway engineer contributed £10. He had been involved in the planning of the colliery tracks as well as the main Newcastle line. The Rocket ended its working life as a static engine here. Contributions were also collected from employees in the mines and the nearby spelter works at Tindale. The total raised was £1735. Many of the stained glass windows were commissioned subsequently as memorials. Most notable is the Diamond jubilee window for Queen Victoria. It shows a delightful depiction of her, unusually in a kneeling position before Christ.

The old church that stood in the lower churchyard dated back to 1169 when it was given to the nearby Lanercost Priory. At the dissolution it was given to Lord Darce and then Lord William Howard. There are no traces of this building only the dedication board to George the first that hangs in the new building.

The old churchyard has many fine head stones. The Bell families are numerous but one is notable, Joseph Bell. His grandson was baptised in the new church in May 1861 and grew up not to be a farmer like his ancestors but an engineer. After serving an apprenticeship at Stephenson works in Newcastle he went to sea and worked his way up to become Chief Engineer. His last commission was on RMS Titanic where he lost his life when it sank after hitting an iceberg in 1912. The family headstone bears a memorial to him and his fellow engineers.

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Enchanting atmosphere
  • Fascinating churchyard
  • National heritage here
  • Famous connections

Visitors information

  • Level access to the main areas
  • On street parking at church
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets nearby
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome
  • Space to secure your bike

Other nearby churches


St Martin

St Martin's church is a 'very remarkable building with windows glowing with gemstone colours' according to architectural historian Nikolaus Pevsner.


Lanercost Priory

Set in a tranquil rural landscape, surrounded by fields and overlooked by Hadrian's Wall, Lanercost forms a magnificent and fascinating complex of historic buildings.

Help support ExploreChurches by becoming a Friend of the National Churches Trust