About this church
After the Rising had been quashed Nicholas Leache along with others was hanged, drawn and quartered at Tyburn for treason.
Although the present church of St Peter & St Paul only dates from the 19th century, there is positive evidence of a church in the village before 1153. At that time, the church of Belchford was shared between the priories of Spalding and Trentham. Ranulph, Earl of Chester, was Lord of Belchford by means of his marriage as third husband to Lady Lucia. At some time before his death, he gave half the church of Belchford to Spalding Priory. His son, Hugh, who died in 1181, assigned the remaining half of the church to Trentham Priory.
The church was therefore divided into two. Both priories claimed the right to appoint rectors to the parish and that is why there are two lists of rectors in the years prior to the dissolution of the monasteries!
St Peter & St Paul is constructed in the main from green sandstone. When entering this little gem, through the 18th century semi circular headed west doorway, the colour of the east window casts a wonderful pale blue hue across the chancel and nave, making an almost ethereal illusion. Together with the decorated organ and painted chancel roofs, this little church is a treat.
Of particular note is the ornate 19th century altar and reredos with painted panels depicting Virgin and child and apostles and the pulpit with panelled sides, one containing relief of Magi with Virgin and child.