About this church
A gem of a treasure house with numerous delights. Parts of the church are thought to be of Saxon origin which was then rebuilt by the Normans.
The 15th century rood screen has survived the Reformation and leads through to the chancel which contains a delightful Saxon keyhole window. The wall above the chancel arch is painted an amazing bright ochre, but why?
There are six memorials in the church referring to past villagers. Of particular mention is the niche built into south wall with a touching brass memorial inscription recording wool merchant Anthony Palfreyman's grief at the loss of his wife Katherine, who died in 1555.