St Paul

This delightful church was built in 1851-1852.

About this church

It was built at the instigation of Colonel William Legh Clowes and Miss Atherton of Kersal Cell 'for the benefit of the poor of Rainscow' a hamlet just across the border in Prestwich.
 

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Social heritage stories

Visitors information

  • Bus stop within 100m
  • Level access to the main areas
  • On street parking at church

Other nearby churches

Placeholder image

St Mary

Prestwich is not mentioned in the Domesday Book but there is evidence of a church on the site from at least 1200. The tower was built in about 1500 by the 1st Earl of Derby, and the body of the church was rebuilt during the early part of the 16th century. In 1872 a new chapel, the Birch Chapel, was added to the south of the chancel and to the east of the existing south Lever chapel; the Lever Chapel was rebuilt two years later.

Supported by National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings