St Oswald

In spite of the eclectic origins of its many parts, St Oswald's significance lies it its alterations and accumulation of features over time including Norman font and walls, 13th century windows, 15th century chancel and furniture by Thompson (the Mouseman).

About this church

Medieval grave slabs and tomb recesses are built into the general fabric, and the whole is deliciously garnished with three medieval gargoyles now a rarity in Cumbria.

Parts of St Oswald's date back to the 12th century, the rest has been gradually added, but there is some evidence that a wooden building stood here from Saxon times

The font which stands just inside the church door is the original Norman one, although the wooden cover was made locally in Victorian times. Also added in the late Victorian era are the various stained glass windows.

The pulpit, lectern, pews and bookcase are additions from the 1960s, manufactured and installed by Robert Thompson of Kilburn, Yorkshire. There are over twenty of his carved ‘mouse’ trademark around the building, a continual reminder that it has been a place of quiet activity for a thousand years

Although it’s an ancient building, St Oswald's is much more than a monument to the past. It continues to be the meeting place for an active Christian congregation, dedicated to the missionary ideals of St Oswald.

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Glorious furnishings
  • Enchanting atmosphere
  • Fascinating churchyard
  • Wildlife haven
  • Social heritage stories

Visitors information

  • Level access to the main areas
  • On street parking at church
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets nearby
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome
  • Space to secure your bike

Other nearby churches


St Michael & All Angels

Lamplugh church, designed by William Butterfield, is located in a dramatic landscape, set against the outlying fells of the Lake District National Park with Owsen and Blake Fells beyond.


St Michael

The Fell church is simple in design and plain in ornament, its charm lies in its setting and glimpse into the past.


Our Lady Star of the Sea & St Michael

The church was designed by Edward Welby Pugin (son of Augustus Welby Pugin) and built between 1873 - 1876 to replace a chapel in the grounds which now forms part of St Joseph's High School.

Become a Friend of the National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings!