About this church
During Roman times there was a settlement at Hackthorn, forming part of the Lindum Colonia, where soldiers were encouraged to settle on retirements. It is likely that that medieval village later took the place of the Roman settlement, being sited both where the present village stands as well as north of it, as excavations have revealed an almost continuous series of building foundations. Hackthorn and a church is mentioned in the Doomsday Book, and the name Hackthorn may be from the old English words 'haca' (a hook or bend), or from 'hagathorn' (hawthorn). A central part of the village is Hackthorn Estate. The only remnants of the earliest church on this site, are the two arches that are incorporated into the north and west doorways of the present building, and some thick stone slabs of Saxon origin that were found when the present foundations were being laid. By the mid 18th century the church was in very poor repair and restoration work was carried out by the sale of steeple lead and two of the three bells. In 1805 the church was found to be too large for the parish and so it was modernised and reduced in size. By 1844 the church was found to be too small and so it was decided to enlarge it again and it was not until March 4th 1849 that the first service was held. However, heavy rain in December came through the new roof and the angle had to be realigned. By March 1851 the church was entirely finished, furnishings and all. Memorials in the church are mainly dedicated to the Cracroft family and the Amcotts family.