About this church
Records show that there has been a church on this site since 1160. There is a stone coffin and ancient stone cross that are believed to date from 1270 stored inside the vestry. The current building was erected during the 14th and 15th centuries.
The 15th century wooden pews that boast beautifully carved ends with candle holders. The chancel contains a Willis Organ which was built about the same time as its mighty cousin in The Albert Hall. The high altar is lit by superb stained glass windows depicting Christ. The wooden choir stalls are highly carved and support candle holders.
The tower was the last part to be built towards the end of the 15th century. It contains four bells. The oldest is 35 inches in diameter and was cast about 1370. The treble 33.5 inches bears the date 1595. The third 41.5 inches and fourth is 44 inches, both were cast in 1604.
The church contains a side chapel dedicated to the Holy Trinity, containing our prayer corner. Candles are routinely lit for loved ones.
On the right is a chapel dedicated to St Mary, above the alter is an oil on canvas painting of the Madonna.
In the early 2000s a vestry and meeting room were sympathetically built in glass and light oak to the two corners to the west end of the nave.
To see us at our best, visit our evening service of lessons and carols just before Christmas, when the church is lit entirely by candle light.