St Mary le Tower

It was in the churchyard of St Mary that the town charter was written in 1200.

About this church

Although medieval, the church mostly dates from 1860-70 whenit was rebuilt by Richard Phipson. Rebuilding was funded by George Bacon, a banker and philanthropist. 

There are fine brasses in the chancel floor, a brass memorial to a previous vicar, Revd Douglas-Hamilton and the tower was the first in Suffolk to houses a peal of 12 bells.

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Glorious furnishings
  • Social heritage stories

Visitors information

  • Bus stop within 100m
  • Level access to the main areas
  • Car park at church

Other nearby churches

Castle Hill Church

The church was built in 1956 and is Grade II because of its unusual architecture, particularly the walls which contain hundreds of small panes of coloured glass.

St Mary

A rural church on the edge of modern life.

Become a Friend of the National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings!