St Mary

In the bustling mountain gateway to Snowdonia, St Mary's continues the tradition of a 'prayer house in the wood' (betws y coed).

About this church

The church was built in 1873 at a cost of £5,000 to replace the medieval church of St Michael, which had by then become too small to accommodate the fast growing parish. The tower was completed in 1907.

It was designed by EG Paley and JH Austin, architects of Lancaster and was built by O Gethin D Jones, building contractor of Penmachno. The land and some of the building stone were given by Lord Willoughby De Eresby of Gwydir Castle.

A warm inclusive welcome, sound bible teaching and worship with traditional hymns awaits you. 

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Glorious furnishings
  • Enchanting atmosphere
  • Fascinating churchyard
  • Wildlife haven
  • Social heritage stories
  • National heritage here
  • Famous connections

Visitors information

  • Bus stop within 100m
  • Train station within 250m
  • Level access to the main areas
  • Ramp or level access available on request
  • Car park at church
  • On street parking at church
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets nearby
  • Café within 500m
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome
  • Church shop or souvenirs

Other nearby churches

Seion Chapel

Seion Methodist Chapel was built in 1895 by architects Booth, Chadwick and Porter of Colwyn Bay, in the vernacular style.

St Grwst

Hello, we are St Grwst church, dating from the early 15th century and located in the heart of Wales in the tranquil market town of Llanrwst.

Become a Friend of the National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings!