About this church
Grinling Gibbons carved the huge limewood reredos, the only piece in the city certainly documented as being by him.
A bomb blast in World War II shattered it into two thousand pieces but it was carefully restored to the original state between 1948 and 1953 when the pieces were meticulously reassembled.
William Snow, a parishioner, painted the breathtaking wide and shallow dome in 1708. The dome, which cannot be seen externally, is supported on eight arches above four plain brick walls, making the interior seem spacious and light.
The woodwork in the interior is the best surviving complete set, with the pulpit and tester, doorcases and west gallery being particularly fine.