About this church
In 1859 the village of Outwood was described as a wild outlying district with a population of 542 and no church or school.
Some time about 1860 the Revd John Davis of Nutfield started a weekly Sunday service. Subsequently a benefactor in Nutfield provided a corrugated iron building to be used as a church which it is believed was erected near the current site of the church.
The foundation stone was laid on 24 May 1869 by the daughter of the Rector of Burstow and consecrated on 23 December 1869 by the Bishop of Winchester.
The church was constructed in a plain lancet style to a design by the celebrated architect, William Burges, who designed Cardiff Castle. The building comprises a nave of six bays and a chancel with a broad, square tower at the west end. This saddleback tower was added to the church in 1874 by WP Manning and contains, unusually, four bells. The clock was placed in the tower in 1895.
Access to the belfry is via an octagonal turret built into the south east corner of the tower; it does not extend beyond this level. The exterior of the church is in local Reigate stone and the interior is brick with timbered beams and an acorn shaped strip wood ceiling. The interior brick finish is quite unique and its pointing is an example of Victorian workmanship at its very best.
The recently completed conservation and repair project has been the result of five years research and trials culminating in a project that has safeguarded the future of the building.