About this church
The majestic Gothic Revival style church was built in 1857 to the design of FC Penrose. It is the third church in the village and second on the current site. It cost £26,000 and was paid for by Lord Wenlock and his family.
The church was devastated by fire in 1923, but fully restored by Hull architect John Bilson, reopening in 1925. Bilson also designed the stained glass windows behind the altar, made by James Powell & Son of Whitefiars. The observant can see their trademark ‘White Friar’ in the bottom right hand corner.
The apsidal baptistry, with ambulatory, features many wonderful funeral monuments mainly to the memory of members of the estate owning family. One of particular note is to the memory of Jane Lawley and by the accomplished Danish sculptor Bertel Thorvaldsen. It is one of only three examples of his relief work to be found in this country. The magnificent marble font stands proudly in the centre of the Baptistry and is by the notable Italian Giovanni Tognoli. It predates the current church. Two appealing putti hold the elegant bowl.
The cleaned medieval effigy, thought to be of Roger de Lascelles and carved around 1300, now lays regally in the newly decorated Baptistry. All can now admire the 700 year old craftsmanship. There is also a Carrara marble monument in memory of Lardy Caroline Neville, 1st Lady Wenlock, carved in 1874 by Count Gleichen.
Display panels in the north aisle tell the fascinating potted history of the estate village, church and community.