About this church
St George's, built in 1813-14, is the first of the three Liverpool churches designed by Thomas Rickman and built by ironmaster John Cragg. The building’s shell is stone but the roof and much of the interior structure are cast iron. For the second, St Michael's in the Hamlet, the use of iron was extended to include the parapets, battlements, pinnacles and hoodmoulds. The third St Philip's in Hardman St was demolished in 1882.
The roofing system is based on Charles Rawlinson’s 1772 patent to to use an iron structure rather than timber. By 2018 the unique, almost flat slate roof at St George’s had suffered from continual water ingress and damage to the cast iron structure and decay had reached a dangerous state. It was repaired with reused and new Penrhyn Heather Blue slates later that year.