About this church
Built by Thomas de Redying between 1318 and 1353, St Andrew’s replaces an earlier Anglo Saxon church reputed to be under the supervision of Bishop Chad, a prominent 7th century Anglo Saxon churchman, who became Bishop of the Mercians and Lindsey people. Later he was canonised as a saint.
Thomas de Redying was priest at Little Steeping until his death in 1353 and during his time he transformed the simple Norman building by constructing his new church with aisles and chancel. The tower is thought to have been completed after his death.
Built of local Spilsby sandstone, the church boasts a wooden altar, a modern stone altar and a wooden screen, all well worth viewing.
Revd John Stubbs was appointed rector in 1592. The roof and walls of the chancel must have been in a poor state when he arrived as unfortunately in 1606 they collapsed and Revd Stubbs was prosecuted by his parishioners for his failure to maintain the ‘thacking’ of the chancel. Thacking was the Lincolnshire term for the construction of a roof with slats and covered with thatch. The rector made use of the materials in the churchyard to effect the repairs, using old grave monuments and grave stones.
In 1635 the nave roof fell into disrepair and needed complete reconstruction. The old timbers were replaced with green oak from the Forest of Well near Alford. These timbers lasted well into the 20th century and one piece is still in place adjacent to the tower.
In 1859, Revd Edward Steer became rector and found the church to be almost a ruin. He made urgent repairs, enlisting the help of the village carpenter. Together they reseated the nave, build a new pulpit, repaired the chancel screen and improved the interior of the chancel.
Later, in 1912 a complete renovation of the church was carried out using many of the ideas planned and drafted by Revd Edward Steer which had been stored in the parish chest.