Grimsby Minster

The church was mentioned in the Domesday Book and there is evidence of Roman and Saxon material in the west wall.

About this church

The first documentary evidence of a church here dates from 1114. John Wesley preached here in 1758. Updated and adapted over the centuries, the vast spaces are lit by many modern stained glass windows, many of the original windows having been damaged in the bomb blasts in July 1943.

In the Memorial Chapel, the World War I memorial was damaged by the bombing and was deliberately left in this state. The church contains many other memorials including a 15th century knight effigy of Sir Thomas Haslerton in the Lady Chapel, brought from St Leonards Nunnery after the Dissolution.

The church has its own choir school and a strong musical tradition with Choral Evensong, many concerts and a monthly organ recital to name a few of the musical experiences available. Unusually, there are two organs in the church. The organ at the west end dates from 1951 and replaced an earlier instrument destroyed during World War II. Parts of the previous organ were incorporated in the new instrument. As there is a significant distance between this organ and the Choir, a second organ was installed in the 1970s at the north side of the Choir and this is used for choral services today. Both organs feature on the National Pipe Organ Register.

There are 10 bells with a total weight of 4.3 tonnes, with the tenor bell measuring 4 feet in diameter. They are rung regularly.

One of the most recent additions to the church is the coffee shop, which is a popular destination, particularly on market days.

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Glorious furnishings
  • Enchanting atmosphere
  • Social heritage stories
  • National heritage here

Visitors information

  • Level access to the main areas
  • On street parking at church
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets nearby
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome
  • Space to secure your bike

Other nearby churches

St Michael

There is evidence that a church existed here in the 12th century, it was however greatly extended in 1915 hence it has two distinct side by side buildings.

LincolnshireGREATCOATESStNicholas(davidwrightCC-BY-SA2.0)1

St Nicholas

Fascinating Norman church with many monuments and treasures connected to Sir Thomas Barnardiston, believed to be the original 'Roundhead'.

Become a Friend of the National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings!