Friends Meeting House

The Society of Friends emerged in the 1650s, a time of great religious turmoil.

About this church

It was rooted in Christianity, but its founder George Fox and other early Friends rejected creeds and church teachings. They believed in a personal faith, not needing a priest as intermediary, and available to all regardless of whether or not they had even heard of Jesus.

By the early 1650s, meetings were certainly being held in the barn. Much of the back wall of this building stands on the original barn’s walls. The hamlet, which had already acquired its local name ‘Quaker Bottom’, expanded as the local Quaker farmers extended their interests in various trades such as milling, tanning and iron founding.

The Meeting House is a wonderful place to visit, with lots to see and learn.

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Fascinating churchyard
  • Social heritage stories
  • Famous connections

Visitors information

  • Level access to the main areas
  • On street parking at church
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets nearby
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome
  • Space to secure your bike

Other nearby churches

St Nicholas

The church is the third to have stood on this site and dates from 1876.

Holy Trinity

The church is a wonderful example of 1930s church architecture, of traditional and Art Deco construction.

Become a Friend of the National Churches Trust, for people who love church buildings!