Crathie Kirk

The granite church overlooks the River Dee and the ruins of the 14th century church.

About this church

Crathie Kirk in the village of Crathie, is a Church of Scotland parish church which was built in in 1895 by A Marshall MacKenzie from Elgin.

The granite church overlooks the River Dee and the ruins of the 14th century church.

From 1848, Crathie Kirk has been a place of worship for Queen Victoria and every British monarch since. Queen Victoria laid the foundation stone of the present church in 1893, 45 years after her first visit. She also donated two stained glass windows and Princess Beatrice donated four bells which still hang in the belltower.

Queen Victoria's personal attendant, John Brown was buried in Crathes Kirk graveyard, along with others who served here. Some have headstones with personal epitaphs from Victoria.

Key Features

  • Captivating architecture
  • Spectacular stained glass
  • Magnificent memorials
  • Glorious furnishings
  • Enchanting atmosphere
  • Fascinating churchyard
  • Wildlife haven
  • Social heritage stories
  • National heritage here
  • Famous connections

Visitors information

  • Level access to the main areas
  • On street parking at church
  • Parking within 250m
  • Accessible toilets nearby
  • Café within 500m
  • Dog friendly
  • Walkers & cyclists welcome

Other nearby churches


St Margaret

Built between 1899 and 1907 to cater for the many English tourists visiting Deeside and Braemar, St Margaret's one of Comper's most important designs.


St Ninian

The chapel of St Ninian Braemar was built in 1898 at the same time as Mar Lodge, for the 1st Duke of Fife who married Princess Louise, the granddaughter of Queen Victoria.

Help support ExploreChurches by becoming a Friend of the National Churches Trust