About this church
The Viking Way long distance footpath passes near the church and, as our visitors book records, many walkers take time to enjoy our rural location and to visit the church to experience its peace. There are commanding views over the village towards Lincoln Cathedral more than 20 miles away.
The Domesday Book does not mention the church but architectural evidence suggest that one must have existed, if not before, then shortly after the Norman Conquest. The first known vicar was Alan of Tevelsby (Tealby) who was appointed by Sixhill Priory in 1220. During the Middle Ages work was done to heighten the tower and add the splendid clerestory (raised central section of the nave).
By the early 19th century the principal influence on the church and village was the Tennyson family. In 1872 the chancel restoration was financed by Admiral Edwin Tennyson d'Eyncourt to house the numerous memorials to his family. Inside can be found a fine hatchment to the Tennyson-d' Eyncourt family. The gauntleted hand holding a tilting spear represents Tennyson.
There is also a memorial to Admiral Edwin Clayton Tennyson D'Eyncourt who died in.1903 and his wife Henrietta who died in.1880. Edwin was second son to Charles Tennyson d'Eyncourt and cousin to the Poet Alfred, Lord Tennyson. He had a distinguished naval career.