About this church
The earliest records show a church to have been at Strelley since the 13th century. Its history has been dominated by the ownership of the parish by two powerful families, the deStrelleys from the 12th century to 1678 and the Edge family from 1678 to 1978. These two families have left a rich legacy of monuments and furnishing in the church.
The houses surrounding the church and manor house were pulled down and rebuilt, out of sight of Strelley Hall in the 18th century and the razed area was made into parkland, thus dividing the parish into two halves. All Saints stands on high ground overlooking picturesque and romantic countryside. It is approached, from the south, by the medieval ‘monks way’ passing the moated manor site.
There is an impressive collection of 23 monuments within the church. The deStrelley family made the chancel their mausoleum and the Edge family made the south transept theirs.
There is also a considerable amount of stained glass in the church dating from the late 14th century to 1914. Much of the old glass is Flemish with some earlier English work. It is believed that Thomas Webb Edge brought most of the old glass with him from Shirburn in Warwickshire in 1793.